Neil Best leaves no stone unturned in the world of sports media.

Bob Wolff of News 12 LI honored by hoops HOF

(Credit: Watchdog)

A laurel and hearty handshake to News 12's own Bob Wolff for being honored with the Curt Gowdy Media Award from the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Wolff and long-time USA Today hoops scribe David DuPree will be recognized during the Hall's enshrinement ceremonies in September.

Click below for the news release from SpringfieldDavid DuPree, the longtime USA Today writer covering the NBA, and Bob Wolff, who has broadcast basketball in eight decades, have been selected to receive the 2008 Curt Gowdy Media Award from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame during Enshrinement festivities September 4&5 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Named in honor of the late legendary sports broadcaster and former Basketball Hall of Fame President Curt Gowdy, the prestigious awards are given annually to one member of the print and one member of the electronic media whose efforts have made a significant contribution to the game of basketball.

“The Gowdy Award presentation is certainly one of the highlights of Enshrinement Weekend, and both Mr. DuPree and Mr. Wolff exemplify the true spirit of the award”, said John L. Doleva, Hall of Fame President & CEO. “These two men have dedicated much of their professional careers to telling the story of basketball for millions of readers, listeners and viewers, and the Hall of Fame is proud to honor their efforts.”

2008 Print award winner David DuPree wrote for 23 years for USA TODAY, and has worked nearly 40 years as a professional journalist, 30 of them covering the NBA. He previously worked for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, The Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post and has worked for CNN, WDCA-TV (Washington, D.C.), WRC-TV, (NBC affiliate in Washington, D.C.) and Home Team Sports (Washington, D.C.). Dupree currently writes a weekly column for Sports Illustrated online.

In his early years, Dupree made all-city in football, basketball, and track at Franklin High School in Seattle, Washington before attending and graduating from the University of Washington

where he was awarded a football scholarship, was a two-year starter as a cornerback and safety,

and made All-America in track as a sprinter. In the classroom, he earned a degree in both sociology and journalism.

DuPree’s athletic skills were called to action as a journalist, as DuPree played for the Rochester Zeniths of the CBA for half a season for a first person story for the Washington Post, and on another assignment, he went to training camp with the Boston Celtics and played in one pre-season game against the Philadelphia 76ers for a first person story in USA TODAY. DuPree is a regular on Full Court Press on WRC-TV and frequent guest on ESPN's Pardon the Interruption and also worked as an analyst for Washington Bullets television broadcasts and hosted Bullets Jam Session from 1992-94.

In the off-season, he enjoys running a basketball camp with former NBA star Phil Chenier and spending time with his wife, Donna, and sons Aaron and Jondavid. His volunteer work includes helping the Hospice Society of Howard County and serving as mentor in the Howard County Schools Gifted and Talented Program.

Electronic award winner Bob Wolff, is one of the most versatile sportscasters in history. He began his broadcasting career with CBS Radio in Durham, North Carolina in1939 and his nearly 70-year broadcasting career makes him the longest-running broadcaster in history. Wolff is in his 69th season of broadcasting, and currently works for News 12 Long Island, which he joined at its inception in 1986. He also contributes specials, features and commentaries to MSG Network.

In 1945, Wolff began broadcasting college basketball games on radio in Washington D.C. The next year he added a new medium called “television” to his schedule. As a television pioneer, Wolff was the first regular team telecaster in the NBA (then known as the Basketball Association of America). He debuted with WTTG-TV in Washington during the inaugural 1946-47 season as the voice of the Washington Capitals.

Wolff launched his New York broadcasting career at WPIX Channel 11 in New York before switching to WOR-TV. Wolff also began a 36-year play-by-play run at Madison Square Garden and was the television voice of college basketball at the Garden, including assignments for the ECAC Holiday Festival, National Invitation Tournament, and college regional television Game of the Week contests. He also broadcasted countless regional college and professional games.

In addition, Wolff became Madison Square Garden Network’s first full-time cable TV broadcaster and was the TV voice of the Knicks’ only two championship teams (1969-70, 1972-73), and overall announced their games for 27 years.

On the national scene, Wolff has televised college and professional basketball on NBC and ABC (including the NBA Championship); and was the first and only broadcaster to handle play-by-play championships in all four major sports – the World Series, Stanley Cup Finals, NBA Finals and the National Football League Championships.

Bob Wolff was also the first play-by-play telecaster of women’s college basketball at Madison Square Garden, calling Carol Blazejowski’s record-setting 52-point game for Montclair State against Queens College in 1976.

He has received the NIT Media Award in 1992, and has been the New York State Sportscaster of the Year six times. Wolff has won a Cable ACE Award and two Emmys (1989, 1990) for outstanding on-camera work. For his contributions to Madison Square Garden, Wolff was named to the “Walk of Fame” in 2003, and is a also member of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association’s Hall of Fame, New York City Basketball Hall of Fame and was elected to the Broadcast Wing of the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Duke University, Bob is married with three children and lives in Rockland County, NY.

Previous Curt Gowdy Media Award Winners

Year Print Electronic

1990 Dick Herbert Curt Gowdy

1991 Dave Dorr Marty Glickman

1992 Sam Goldaper Chick Hearn

1993 Leonard Lewin Johnny Most

1994 Leonard Koppett Cawood Ledford

1995 Bob Hammel Dick Enberg

1996 Bob Hentzen Billy Packer

1997 Bob Ryan Marv Albert

1998 Larry Donald Dick Vitale

Dick Weiss

1999 Smith Barrier Bob Costas

2000 Dave Kindred Hubie Brown

2001 Curry Kirkpatrick Dick Stockton

2002 Jim O’Connell Jim Nantz

2003 Sid Hartman Hot Rod Hundley

2004 Phil Jasner Max Falkenstien

2005 Jack McCallum Bill Campbell

2006 Mark Heisler Bill Raftery

2007 Malcolm Moran Al McCoy

Add new comment

advertisement | advertise on am New York

Neil Best on Twitter

advertisement | advertise on am New York