News Serena Williams fined $17,000 for rules violations at U.S. Open Williams called the umpire a “thief” in an argument about a point that was taken away. Serena Williams argues with umpire Carlos Ramos during her women's singles finals match against Naomi Osaka at the U.S. Open on Saturday. Photo Credit: Getty Images/Alex Pantling By Jeff Williams email@example.com September 9, 2018 3:26 PM Print Share fbShare Tweet Email Serena Williams has been fined a total of $17,000 by U.S. Open officials for three code violations during her loss in the U.S. Open final on Saturday night. Williams has been docked $10,000 for "verbal abuse" of chair umpire Carlos Ramos, $4,000 for being warned for coaching and $3,000 for smashing her racket. USTA spokesman Chris Widmaier said that Williams could have been fined up to $20,000 for each offense for a total of $60,000. The altercation that ultimately led to Williams being docked a game late in the second game began in the second game of the set when Ramos issued the first code violation for coaching from the box, which Williams’ coach, Patrick Mouratoglou, admitted to ESPN that he did. After gaining her only break of the match to lead Osaka 3-1 in the second, Williams smashed her racket after being broken in the fifth game, and was assessed an automatic point deduction (giving Osaka a 15-0 start on her serve in the sixth game). That was a second code violation. Williams continued to argue with Ramos and her dialogue escalated after she was broken again in the seventh game to trail 4-3. She ended up calling Ramos a “thief” for taking away the point, and at that point Ramos issued a third code violation for verbal abuse that cost her a game deduction. That handed the game to Osaka, who then led 5-3. Williams served the ninth game and held, then Osaka served out the match. The fine is deducted from her $1.85-million second-place check and goes to the Grand Slam development fund. The 2003 U.S. Open champion Andy Roddick first issued a critical tweet: “Worst refereeing I’ve ever seen ...... the worst !!!” But he later issued another. “Emotional first take by me. common sense should’ve prevailed in my opinion. He’s within his power to make that call. I’ve seen an umpire borderline coach a player up,and another dock a game for being called a thief in same tourney. There needs to be some continuity in the future.” By Jeff Williams firstname.lastname@example.org Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Comments We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.