

PHARA SOUFFRANT FORREST Assemblywoman 57th District Brooklyn, NY THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY COMMITTEES Aging Consumer Affairs and Protection Health Higher Education Insurance Social Services

April 3, 2023

Janno Lieber Chair and CEO, Metropolitan Transit Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

CC: Richard Davey, President, New York City Transit Frank Annicaro, Senior Vice President, New York City Transit Department of Buses

Dear Chair and CEO Lieber:

As the elected officials who represent the current and proposed route of the B48 bus, we are writing in strong opposition to the MTA's proposal to reroute and cut B48 service as part of the Brooklyn Bus Redesign draft plan. We have significant concerns about these plans removing a vital connection between Western Crown Heights and Greenpoint without any adequate transit replacement.

The proposed changes would reduce overall bus service to parts of North Brooklyn by replacing the B48 with the B69, a bus that runs less frequently along the Lorimer St and Nassau Ave corridors. The changes would also eliminate overnight service along these routes, leaving our constituents with fewer transit options for work or recreation in the late night and early morning.

We have heard lots of concern from riders about these changes, and over 1,000 B48 riders have signed a petition in opposition: <u>https://www.change.org/p/save-the-b48-to-greenpoint</u>

We are calling upon the MTA to commit to the following:

- 1. Reverse course on its plans to reroute the B48 away from Greenpoint and commit to preserving the B48's existing route between Crown Heights and Greenpoint.
- 2. Reverse course on plans to cut overnight service on the B48 and commit to maintaining or increasing service levels on the B48.

We appreciate MTA's stated commitment to public feedback on the bus redesign plan. Accordingly, we would appreciate receiving these commitments from you before the public release of the final draft of the Brooklyn Bus Redesign later in the year.

Sincerely,

Phara Souffrant Forrest NYS Assemblymember, 57th District

Brian Cunningham NYS Assemblymember, 43rd District

Mantza Davila

Maritza Davila NYS Assemblymember, 53rd District

Zinly Hall

Emily Gallagher NYS Assemblymember, 50th District

Joane Simo

Jo Anne Simon NYS Assemblymember, 52nd District

Jabari Brisport NYS Senator, 25th District

Tele Sompily

Kristen Gonzalez NYS Senator, 59th District

Zellnor Myrie NYS Senator, 20th District

Julia Salazar NYS Senator, 18th District

Jennifer Gutiener

Jennifer Gutiérrez NYC Council Member, 34th District

C. Hatson

Crystal Hudson NYC Council Member, 35th District

the)

Rita Joseph NYC Council Member, 40th District

N Routh

Lincoln Restler NYC Council Member, 33rd District