61° Good Evening
61° Good Evening

Seton Hall’s Isaiah Whitehead to receive Lieutenant Frank J. Haggerty Award

Isaiah Whitehead #15 of the Seton Hall

Isaiah Whitehead #15 of the Seton Hall Pirates reacts against the Villanova Wildcats during the Big East Tournament Championship at Madison Square Garden on March 12, 2016. Photo Credit: Getty Images / Mike Stobe

Seton Hall sophomore Isaiah Whitehead, a Brooklyn native, will receive the Lieutenant Frank J. Haggerty Award as the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Player of the Year, the MBWA announced Tuesday.

Seton Hall’s Kevin Willard and Fordham’s Joseph Chartouny also will be honored as the Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the Year Award winner and Rookie of the Year Award winner, respectively, at the MBWA dinner at the Westchester Marriott on Tuesday evening.

Whitehead, who averaged 18.2 points, 5.1 assists, 3.6 rebounds and 1.4 blocks in 34 games this season, is among four Pirates to receive All-Met honors as a member of the first team. Fellow New York City natives Khadeen Carrington and Desi Rodriguez were named to the second and third team, respectively. Angel Delgado of the Dominican Republic also was named to the second team.

Other New York City natives to earn All-Met honors include Fordham’s Ryan Rhoomes (second team), Manhattan’s Shane Richards (second team) and Iona’s Jordan Washington (third team).


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

Top Photos & Videos