2023 NFL Preview: amNewYork Sports predicts division winners, Wild Cards, Super Bowl LVIII, more

NFL predictions 2023
Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (15) holds the Vince Lombardi Trophy while talking to Terry Bradshaw after the NFL Super Bowl 57 football game against the Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Feb. 12, 2023, in Glendale, Ariz. The Kansas City Chiefs defeated the Philadelphia Eagles 38-35. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig)

What will the 2023 NFL season have in store for us?

For the first time in a decade, there’s optimism surrounding both local teams heading into the fall rather than building it up midseason or — more commonly — letting us down by October. 

But there are 30 other teams around the league who will be vying for the Lombardi Trophy and with it, the individual accolades that headline the end-of-season awards pageant. 

Sports editor Joe Pantorno and New York Jets beat writer Nick Faria dusted off the crystal ball to try and predict the future, most notably division winners, Wild Card teams, conference champions, our Super Bowl LVIII winner, and NFL Award winners.

Here is what we came up with:

Joe Burrow and the Cincinnati Bengals take on the Buffalo Bills
Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow. (AP Photo/Charles Krupa)

amNewYork’s 2023 NFL predictions

  Nick Faria Joe Pantorno
AFC East New York Jets Buffalo Bills
AFC North Pittsburgh Steelers Cincinnati Bengals
AFC South Jacksonville Jaguars Jacksonville Jaguars
AFC West Kansas City Chiefs Kansas City Chiefs
AFC Wild Card 1 Cincinnati Bengals New York Jets
AFC Wild Card 2 Miami Dolphins Los Angeles Chargers
AFC Wild Card 3 Tennessee Titans Baltimore Ravens
AFC Champion Chiefs defeat Jets Bengals defeat Chiefs
NFC East Dallas Cowboys Philadelphia Eagles
NFC North Minnesota Vikings Detroit Lions
NFC South New Orleans Saints New Orleans Saints
NFC West San Francisco 49ers San Francisco 49ers
NFC Wild Card 1 New York Giants Dallas Cowboys
NFC Wild Card 2 Seattle Seahawks Seattle Seahawks
NFC Wild Card 3 Detroit Lions Minnesota Vikings
NFC Champion Cowboys defeat 49ers Eagles defeat 49ers
Super Bowl LVIII Champion Chiefs defeat Cowboys Bengals defeat Eagles
NFL MVP Patrick Mahomes, QB, Chiefs Joe Burrow, QB, Bengals
Offensive Player of the Year Christian McCaffrey, RB, 49ers Justin Jefferson, WR, Vikings
Defensive Player of the Year Quinnen Williams, DT, Jets Micah Parsons, LB, Cowboys
Offensive Rookie of the Year Bryce Young, QB, Panthers Bijan Robinson, RB, Falcons
Defensive Rookie of the Year Will Anderson, DE, Texans Jalen Carter, DT, Eagles

For more on the NFL, visit AMNY.com