Yes, there is a presidential primary in New York Tuesday – even though Biden and Trump have clinched nominations

Joe Biden and Donald Trump, presidential candidates in 2024
Joe Biden and Donald Trump easily won New York’s presidential primary on April 2.
Left: AP Photo; Right: Photo by Dean Moses

New York’s presidential primary in the 2024 election cycle wraps up on Tuesday, even if the outcome is a fait accompli.

Joe Biden and Donald Trump clinched long ago enough delegates to win their respective parties’ nominations for president in an election rematch to be decided this November. While Democrats are heading to the polls in their districts to elect slates of delegates to send to the Democratic National Convention this summer in Milwaukee, Republicans only have the option of voting for Trump or one of there previously-withdrawn challengers on the ballot.

New York state has closed primaries, meaning that only registered Democrats or Republicans can vote in the respective party’s contests. Independent or unaffiliated voters have to wait till November to make their voices heard.

The early voting period for the presidential primary took place between March 23-30 and, as expected, turnout was very light. The city’s Board of Elections reported 55,879 voter check-ins during the early voting period; Manhattan had the most with 17,312.

At the top of the Democratic ballot is incumbent President Joe Biden, who defeated Trump in the 2020 general election. Biden secured his party’s renomination earlier this month, but two erstwhile challengers remain on the New York primary ballot: Minnesota Congress Member Dean Phillips and author Marianne Williamson.

Republican New Yorkers don’t have much of a choice on their ballots, though the return of the New York vote will be interesting to watch; in most Republican primaries across the country this year, about 20% of voters selected candidates other than Trump. 

On the ballot with Trump in New York are former South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley; former New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie; and Vivek Ramaswamy.

After selecting from either of the three candidates, Democrats will then get to elect a slate of delegates for their respective Congressional districts. There, again, there are few choices, as each slate has a number of candidates equal to the maximum number of delegates voters are asked to elect.

Some of the delegate candidates are familiar faces, as the slates include prominent city and state elected officials — such as City Council Speaker Adrienne Adams, a delegate candidate for the 5th District in Queens.

The slates on the ballot are as follows:

District 3 (Queens/Long Island – choose 7 delegates): Delia Deriggi Whitton, Anthony Simon, Carol Gresser, James Scheuerman, Veronica Lurvey, Matthew Silverstein, Kimberly Keiserman.

District 5 (Queens – choose 7 delegates): Adrienne Adams, David Weprin, Alicia Hyndman, Patrick Jenkins, Roslin Spigner, Preston Baker, Valerie West.

District 6 (Queens – choose 5 delegates): Glenn Magpantay, Karen Koslowitz, Hersh Parekh, Sandra Mandell, John Y. Park.

District 7 (Brooklyn/Queens – choose 7 delegates): Johanna Carmona, Darryl Towns, Chelsea Connor, Michael McGuire, Rosa Cruz, Johnathan Betancourt, Nijema Rivera.

District 8 (Brooklyn/Queens – choose 7 delegates): Henry Butler, Nikki Lucas, Ademola Oyefeso, Darlene Mealy, Jabaran Akram, Roxanne Persaud, Yamil Speight-Miller.

District 9 (Brooklyn – choose 8 delegates): Una Clarke, Zellnor Myrie, Jahmila Edwards, Brian-Christopher Cunningham, Rona Taylor, Edu Hermelyn, Sarana Purcell, Pinchas Ringel.

District 10 (Brooklyn/Manhattan – choose 10 delegates): Karen Persichilli Keogh, Simcha Eichenstein, Grace Lee, Steven D. Cohn, Chung Seto, Robert Carroll, Jo Anne Simon, Jeffrey T. Lewis, Ilyssa Robin Meyer, Carlos Catzadilla.

District 11 (Brooklyn/Staten Island – choose 5 delegates): Edwina Frances Martin, Michael Mulgrew, Nancy Myers, Charles Fall, Selina Grey.

District 12 (Manhattan – choose 11 delegates): Keith Powers, Gale Brewer, Erik Bottcher, Linda B. Rosenthal, Anthony Simone, Carlina Rivera, Jonathan Henes, Sarah Min, Alex Bores, Anastasia Somoza, Robert Gottheim.

District 13 (Manhattan/Bronx – choose 8 delegates): Elsie Encarnacion, Keith Wright, Diana Ayala, George Alvarez, Gloria Middleton, Manny De Los Santos, Pierina Sanchez, Monjur Choudhury.

District 14 (Queens/Bronx – choose 6 delegates): Amanda Farias, Michael Benedetto, Anne Marie Anzalone, Antonio Alfonso Jr., Leah Richardson, Andres Vargas.

District 15 (Bronx – choose 5 delegates): Yudelka Tapia, Kevin Riley, Virginia Krompinger, Rafael Salamanca Jr., Odetty Tineo.

District 16 (Bronx/Westchester – 8 delegates): Shawyn Patterson-Howard, Jamaal T. Bailey, Suzanne Berger, George Latimer, Florence McCue, Jason Laidley, Edgar Santana III, Shannon Powell.

Polling places around the city will be open on Primary Day April 2 from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. For more information on voting or where to find your polling place, visit vote.nyc.

And don’t forget to keep June 25 open on your calendar; that is primary day for Congressional and statewide races around New York. 

Read More: Unlock ESPN BET Promo Code: MLB Opening Day Bonus!