Clear 38° Good Afternoon
Clear 38° Good Afternoon

Alternate side parking suspensions: Holidays, weather events that save you from moving your car

Alternate side parking gets the occasional suspension due to bad weather.

Snow and holidays have their perks, like not

Snow and holidays have their perks, like not having to move your car to accommodate the alternate side parking rules. Photo Credit: Getty Images / Spencer Platt

Alternate side parking: Those three words are enough to send a shudder down the spine of any New Yorker who dares to keep a car in the city.

You know the drill: You wake up three hours early and circle your neighborhood's streets like a vulture in search of a spot, only to end up parking somewhere that will land you a $45 ticket anyway. "Should have moved the car after work," you mutter to yourself. "Should have sold my car five years ago," you whisper to no one in particular.

But there's an occasional light at the end of the proverbial tunnel — a few days over the course of the year when the pesky alternate side parking regulations are suspended and you can park wherever you please. For non-city dwellers, holidays may be a time to gather with loved ones, but here in NYC, holidays carry a greater significance — not having to find a new parking spot.

Then there's the occasional, horrible snowstorm that puts a damper on virtually all aspects of your life but one: parking.

Here's when you won't have to move your car:

Wednesday, March 7: Snow removal

Thursday, March 8: Snow removal

Thursday, March 29: Holy Thursday

Friday, March 30: Good Friday

Saturday, March 31: Passover

Sunday, April 1: Passover

Thursday, April 5: Holy Thursday

Friday, April 6: Good Friday, Passover

Saturday, April 7: Passover

Thursday, May 10: Solemnity of the Ascension

Sunday, May 20: Shavuot

Monday, May 21: Shavuot

Monday, May 28: Memorial Day

Friday, June 15 through Sunday, June 17: Idul-Fitr (Eid al-Fitr)

Wednesday, July 4: Independence Day

Wednesday, Aug. 15: Feast of Assumption

Tuesday, Aug. 21 through Thursday, Aug. 23: Idul-Fitr (Eid al-Fitr)

Monday, Sept. 10: Rosh Hashanah

Tuesday, Sept. 11: Rosh Hashanah

Wednesday, Sept. 19: Yom Kippur

Monday, Sept. 24: Succoth

Tuesday, Sept. 25: Succoth

Monday, Oct. 1: Shemini Atzereth

Tuesday, Oct. 2: Simchas Torah

Monday, Oct. 8: Columbus Day

Thursday, Nov. 1: All Saints Day

Tuesday, Nov. 6: Diwali, Election Day

Monday, Nov. 12: Veterans Day (observed)

Thursday, Nov. 22: Thanksgiving Day

Saturday, Dec. 8: Immaculate Conception

Tuesday, Dec. 25: Christmas Day


News photos & videos